#### MINUTES <u>WHITLEY COUNTY PLAN COMMISSION</u> REGULAR MEETING February 15, 202 7:00 p. m.

Whitley County Government Center Lower Level, Meeting Room A/B

MEMBERS	PRESENT	ABSENT	STAFF
Travis Baker	Х		Nathan Bilger
Dane Drew	Х		Brent Bockelman
Brent Emerick	Х		
Jack Green	Х		LEGAL COUNSEL
Thor Hodges	Х		Elizabeth Deckard
Mark Johnson	Х		
Rob Schuman	Х		NONVOTING ADVISOR
Kim Kurtz-Seslar	Х		John Woodmansee X
Joe Wolf	Х		
Brent Emerick Jack Green Thor Hodges Mark Johnson Rob Schuman Kim Kurtz-Seslar	X X X X X X X		LEGAL COUNSEL Elizabeth Deckard NONVOTING ADVISOR

#### AUDIENCE MEMBERS

The audience list of in-person and electronic guests is attached below.

#### CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Mr. Hodges called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and led the Pledge of Allegiance. Mr. Bockelman read the roll call with members present and absent listed above.

#### **INTRODUCTION OF NEW MEMBERS AND ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

Mr. Hodges opened nominations for President. Mr. Emerick nominated Mr. Johnson. Ms. Kurtz-Seslar nominated Mr. Hodges. Mr. Emerick made motion to close the nominations. Seconded by Mr. Wolf. All voted in favor of closing the nominations. Mr. Hodges then asked for a vote for President. Mr. Johnson was elected President by roll call vote of 8-1 with eight members voting for Mr. Johnson and Ms. Kurtz-Seslar voting for Mr. Hodges.

At this time Mr. Johnson took over the meeting. He thanked Mr. Hodges for his leadership serving as President.

Mr. Johnson opened nomination for Vice President. Mr. Drew nominated Mr. Emerick. Mr. Hodges nominated Ms. Kurtz-Seslar. Mr. Wolf made a motion to close the nominations. Mr. Johnson asked for a vote. Mr. Emerick was elected Vice-President by roll call vote of 8-1 with eight members voting for Mr. Emerick and Mr. Hodges voting for Ms. Kurtz-Seslar.

Mr. Johnson opened nominations for Secretary. Ms. Kurtz-Seslar nominated Mr. Wolf. There were no other nominations. Mr. Wolf was elected as Secretary by roll call vote of 9-0.

Mr. Johnson and Mr. Bilger explained the BZA appointment and the members who could qualify for the position. Mr. Emerick nominated Mr. Green. Mr. Green expressed that he was new to this

but was willing to learn if needed. With no other nominations, Mr. Green was elected as the BZA representative by roll call vote of 9-0.

Mr. Johnson opened nominations for the Joint Advisory Board member. Mr. Bilger reminded the Commission of the purpose of the Board and its responsibilities. Mr. Emerick nominated Ms. Kurtz-Seslar. With no other nominations, Ms. Kurtz-Seslar was elected as the Joint Advisory Board member by roll call vote of 8-0-1, with Ms. Kurtz-Seslar abstaining.

#### **CONSIDERATION OF PREVIOUS MEETING MINUTES**

The minutes for the December 21, 2022 regular meeting were presented for consideration. Mr. Johnson called for any comments or a motion. Mr. Wolf asked that the spelling of his last name be corrected. Mr. Wolf made a motion to approve the minutes as presented with the correction; seconded by Ms. Kurtz-Seslar. Motion passed, 9-0 by roll call vote.

#### **ADMINISTRATION OF OATH**

Ms. Deckard administered the oath to audience members wishing to speak.

### **OLD BUSINESS**

There was no old business.

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

### 23-W-SUBD-1, Scott and Jessica Smith Replat

Scott and Jessica Smith requested preliminary approval of a 1-lot replat subdivision proposed to be known as "Scott and Jessica Smith Subdivision." The property was located on the west side of State Road 9, approximately ½ mile north of 150 East, in section 27 of Thorncreek Township.

Mr. Bilger presented the staff report. He explained the project would add a fifty foot wide strip from the adjacent property to the existing platted lot. Aerial views were provided to further explain the need for the replat, and an overlay of the plat was shown for reference. He discussed the recommended conditions, emphasizing the condition that the parent parcel must be combined with an adjacent parcel to maintain the required 50' of road frontage. The recommended conditions were:

- 1. Consider shortening the proposed subdivision name.
- 2. The "Larry J. Alles" parent parcel must be combined with an adjacent parcel to retain the required 50' of road frontage.
- 3. Secondary plat approval delegated to the Plan Commission Staff.

Greg Hockemeyer, representative for the petitioner, addressed the Commission and explained the project and the proposed property splits and combinations involved.

Having no comments for the petitioner, Mr. Johnson opened the public hearing. Having no comments, Mr. Johnson closed the public hearing. Mr. Hodges made a motion to approve 23-W-SUBD-1 with the recommended conditions. Mr. Green seconded the motion. The motion was passed by roll call vote of 9-0.

#### 23-W-ZOA-1 Text Amendment

Mr. Bilger presented a proposed amendment of the text of §5.23, Solar Energy Collection Systems in order to correct a typographical error.

Mr. Bilger discussed the error in the buffer/setback formula that was printed in the code. The printed formula was "Additional setback =  $0.009x^2$ -0.783x+164" while the correct formula was "Additional setback= $0.009x^2$ -0.783x+164". The omission of a zero in the formula meant that the sliding scale concept discussed during the Plan Commission's public hearing would always revert to the maximum buffer/setback. He stated that no other changes were proposed. Had the error been found closer to the adoption of the code, it may have been fixed by a less formal process, but due to the time that had passed, legal counsel and he felt it was best handled by the formal text amendment process.

Mr. Johnson asked if this is open for public comment. Mr. Bilger confirmed that it was a public hearing but comments should regard the formula change. Ms. Kurtz-Seslar confirmed that the correct formula was used in the discussions and previous meetings.

Mr. Johnson opened the public hearing. Having no comments, he closed the public hearing and asked for a motion. Mr. Wolf made a motion to approve amendment 23-W-ZOA-1 with a favorable recommendation; Mr. Emerick seconded. Motion passed by a vote of 9-0.

## **OTHER BUSINESS**

Mr. Bilger discussed the Rules of Procedure that were distributed earlier in the year. He discussed changes in the rules that included electronic participation in meetings. Decision was made to review and discuss at an upcoming meeting.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Having no further business, Mr. Johnson adjourned the meeting at 7:27 P. M.

## <u>GUEST LIST</u>

1	. Greg Hockemeyer	116 N. Chauncey St.
2	Brandt Mowrey	
3	. Tery Mowrey	
4	. Karen Rust	1846 E. Paige Rd.
5	. David Trimmer	
6	Larry Alles	
7	Candy Hull	1200 Raber Road
8	Jason Dafforn	3134 E. Mowrey Rd.
9	. Teresa A. Hall	
1	0. Amy Herron	1901 S. Coffeetree Ln.
1	1. Gale Herron	1901 S. Coffeetree Ln.
1	2. Mark Mowrey	
1	3. Debbie Gay	
1	4. Donna Hearld	1959 E. Robin Hood Rd.
1	5. Doug Morrow	1160 S. 500 East
1	6. Marilyn Hively	1946 E. Robin Hood Rd.

17. Connie Forrester	
18. Barbara Lahrman	
19. Nathan Patterson	
20. Doug Hosler	
21. Sonya Emerick	
22. Emily Studebaker	5147 W. 200 South
23. Larry Long	

# **GUEST LIST-ELECTRONIC**

Kelly Inns	200 S. Wacker Dr. Chicago, IL
Alayne Johnson	
John Meister	
Joan Null	8099 S. 200 East
Silas Scott	3 Stortz Drive, Bloomington