Primary Election:
The primary election is the first Tuesday after the first Monday in May. The next Primary Election Day is Tuesday, May 8, 2018. The last day to register to vote for this election is Monday, April 9, 2018.
General Election:
The general election is the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November. The next General Election Day is Tuesday, November 6, 2018. The last day to register to vote for this election is Tuesday, October 9, 2018.
In-Office Absentee Voting:

Located in the Voter Registration Office at the Whitley County Courthouse, 101 W Van Buren St, Room 18, Columbia City.  Photo I.D. is required.  You do not need a reason to vote absentee in-office.
Hours for the 2018 Primary Election:
Tuesday, April 10 to Friday, May 4th (Weekdays) - 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturdays, April 28th & May 5th - 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Monday, May 7th - 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. (LAST DAY)
Voting Absentee by Mail or Traveling Board:
If you would like to vote by mail or traveling board in the upcoming Primary Election, you will need to print one of the applications below and return to our office by Monday, April 30, 2018 (mail) or Friday, May 4, 2018 (traveling board).  You can return the forms by mail, in-person, via fax at 260-248-3137 or email at wcclerk6@whitleygov.com.  You can also request an application be sent to you by calling the Voter Registration Office at 260-248-3164. 

ABS-MAIL-Application for Absentee Ballot by Mail Only
ABS-TRAVELING BOARD-Application for Absentee Ballot by Traveling Board Only
FPCA: Federal Post Card Application for Voter Registration/Absentee Voting for Military & Overseas Voters
All Candidate filing takes place at:
Whitley County Election Office
101 W Van Buren St, Room 18
Columbia City IN 46725
Churubusco Town Council Candidates have from Wednesday, January 10, 2018 until Wednesday, August 1, 2018 at 12:00 p.m. (noon) and they need to file the CAN-16 and CAN-12 forms. If the elected position you are filing for makes over $5,000 per year, you will also need to file a CFA-1 to open a Campaign Committee. A Town Convention will then be held in August.
School Board Candidates have from Wednesday, July 25, 2018 to Friday, August 24, 2018 at 12:00 p.m.(noon) to file forms CAN-12 and CAN-34 petition with 10 signatures. 
CAN-12 Statement of Economic Interests for Local and School Board Offices
CAN-16 Town Office Declaration of Candidacy When No Town Primary is Conducted in 2018 (Churubusco)
CAN-34 Petition of Nomination and Consent for School Board Office Elected in 2018
Annual Campaign Finance (CFA-4) forms will be due for candidates and/or committees that we opened in 2017 or before, by Wednesday, January 17, 2018 at 12:00 p.m. (NOON).  Filing a late CFA-4 form will result in fines up to $50.00 per day assessed by the Whitley County Election Board.
CFA-1:  Candidate's Statement of Organization
CFA-4:  Report of Receipts and Expenditures of a Political Committee

Whitley County Election Board Members: 
  • Neil Hanni, Chairperson, Republican
  • Sheila Sauers, Vice-Chairperson, Democrat
  • Debbie Beers, Secretary
The Mission of the Whitley County Election Board is to promote public trust by our conduct of accurate and efficient elections with equal access to all.

Recent News

More | Subscribe to this feed

Functions and Services

Absentee VotingElection Results-Prior Years
Getting a list of Registered VotersOffices on the Ballot
Poll WorkersPolling Locations
Reaching Your RepresentativesToll Free County Contacts
Township Trustees & BoardsVoting Instructions

Related Sites of Interest

Election CalendarVoting Guide for Young Voters
Register to Vote OnlinePrecinct Maps
Indiana Election Division - Voter RegistrationIndiana Election Division - Candidate Information
Indiana Election Division - Campaign Finance

Contact Us

  • (260) 248-3164
  • (260) 248-3137
  • Staff Directory
  • Department Hours:

In This Department

More Information